Mutant Blast –Detonation

Hutch explodes all over the new Mutant Blast EP…..

Although they only finalised their line up in 2020, Finish death n’ rollers Mutant Blast have a distinctly mature sound. Detonation maybe their first EP but there is plenty to get stuck into in the blasting 22 minutes which five full songs as well as an atmospheric intro.  

It’s clear from the start that Mutant Blast draw from a wide range of influences, from the power and drive of Motörhead to the ferocious death metal of Entombed and the raw black metal of Venom. The sound is harsh and raw, with opening track Break the Wheel an uncontrollable and feisty rager that explodes from the opening bars and doesn’t slow down – in fact there is a frantic pace which appears to increase as the track progresses.  

Vocalist Tomi Malinen, who also adds guitar has a gnarly delivery which suits the band’s chaos driven style. There is a bigger, more intense feel to Blades of Steel, but the track soon breaks out into another all-out aural assault. This is music to which one must break speed limits, such is the grip that it establishes on the listener. In the live arena, bones would be broken in the pits, with the underlying groove combining with a visceral slice of thrash that surely will appeal to most metal fans.  

There’s more than a whiff of Chrome Division in the band’s style, with the dramatic Grave Insanity, with its huge riffs and boot print of a stomp bringing a different feel whilst March of the Dead reverts to a more traditional thrash approach, all raging riffing and pounding drumming and a nice bit of Slayer thrown in for good measure. 

This is an EP that is well worth a listen if you like your thrash blended with a gritty, old-school mix of influences. The band comprise lead vocalist and guitarist Tomi Malinen, guitarist Toni Huhtiniemi, bassist Juha Lähde and drummer E-S Kuikka and are yet another example of the hot bed of metal that is Finland.  

Detonation was released on the 10/09/21 and is available via BandCamp

ukthrashers – Orange Goblin

In this weeks episode we catch up with Ben from Orange Goblin & Route One Booking and talk about being a man mountain, the re-issue of Healing Through Fire, the new line up, gigs in ‘The Yard’ touring post Brexit and loads more

We have music from – Elimination – Victims By Design

Invator – Deathtrap For An Execution

Orange Goblin – Vagrant Stomp

Maze Of Terror – Priest Of The Ancient Ones

Trapped In Purgatory – Spit It Out

Killing – Don’t Get Mad..Get Evil

Checkout the episode below or subscribe in Spotify or Apple Podcasts

ukthrashers – Paradise Lost

We are back after a bit of a break, In this weeks episode Jon catches up with Aaron from Paradise Lost.

We have an exclusive new track from Novichok called Omnicide taken from their new EP Empire Of Lies We also have Music from Blacklist and ‘Crucifix’ taken from their upcoming new album Disciples Of Time

Devastator – Howling Night from their (newly available on vinyl) debut album Baptised In Blasphemy

Imperium – Here Comes The Night

Dead Before Mourning – Will We Ever Learn

and Finish with Tortured Demon and ‘The Invasion’



ukthrashers – MTRO Special

Part UK Thrashers, Part The Thrash Metal Album Of The Fortnight Club. In this special episode Carl & Robbie take over as hosts and give me a grilling (with he aid of beer) on all things Charity Album – MTRO, the what, why, how, and oops..

We play Music from 

Imperium – Here Comes The Night

Elimination – In The Name Of Violence

Dead Before Mourning – The Surgeon In Black

Thrasherwolf – A Thousand Eyes

ukthrashers – Black City Records

Not quite a normal podcast, blended with not quite a ukthrashers guide to… this week Jon caught up with brand new Bristol Heavy Metal Record Shop ‘Black City Records’ And chat about setting up a new store in the heart of Bristols metal scene….

We also have music from

Belgium Thrashers Primal Creation – Watch It Burn from their new album

Bangover – Blood Of Brakus

Overpower – Poison

Goliath  – Under The Glass


Apple Podcast

See you next time!!

ukthrashers – Evile

In this weeks episode we catch up with returning UK thrash kings Evile, we chatted with Ol and Adam about the reformed line up, vocal and style of the new album,  and all the stuff you’d expect

On Moshin’ The Roof On Volume 2 Release day we play music from

Acid For Blood and Burn, Die (MTRO exclusive advance)

Night Fighter – The Ripper (MTRO exclusive advance)

RipTide – Inhuman Race

Killerkorp – Survival Of The Fittest

Our US brothers Ultimate Power Corrupts and Severed From Reality

And Finish with Blacklist (ft Liam from Hellfekted and Daniel from Thrasherwolf) and Brand New MTRO track – Vengeance

Available on Youtube (below) or our Spotify /Apple Pages (links at Bottom of Page)

ukthrashers guide to… Mercenary press

In our Second ‘ukthrashers guide to…’ we catch up with Inhuman Nature vocalist to chat about his new record label and distribution company ‘Mercenary Press’

We have a good old geeky chat about cassettes, merch and music, his first release from Sadistic Force and talk about his DIY ethos of fanzines, record label and music.

Check out Mercenary Press Big Cartel for the zine, merch and releases

or BandCamp

Available in moving pictures below, or on your favourite podcast platform.

ukthrashers – Acid Age

We are back with Belfast Thrashers Acid Age, talking all things about the NI Scene, motorway breakdowns, warrjazz as well as their new album Semper Pessimus…

We have music from –  Acid Age – Shotgun In Your Mouth

Mortal Backlash – Leaders Of The Lie

Acid Age – Slave Girl

Scimitar – Behead The Beast

Sadistic Force (USA) – Billion Dollar Sadist